Make your own free website on Tripod.com


TORONTO TRAMWAYS

###################################################################### The company's tram motor 67A and trail car 149B were taken over by the Railways Dept. until November, 1910, when an additional motor and trail car were sent from Sydney to replace them. The line then being serviced by two motors and two trail cars.

Meanwhile, the LINES branch of the Railways Dept. was at work re-locating and bringing the line up to a railway standard so that passenger trains could be used. This work was completed and the N.S.W.G.R. began to run trains on the 28th May, 1911. The steam motors and the trail cars were returned to Sydney.

The Toronto to Fassifern line continued to operate as a railway, being serviced by steam locos and diesel passenger cars until its closure in March 1990.

The original tram/railway corridor still exists today in its entirity with 95% of the rails still in position. However, small station stops along the way have been demolished.

######################################################################



CLICK BELOW FOR NEXT PAGE

CLICK "HERE" FOR NEXT PAGE
A FEW MORE PHOTOS