Make your own free website on Tripod.com


MAITLAND   TRAMWAYS

######################################################################

The 8th February, 1909, was an important day for the population of Maitland, with 100's of people lining the tramway route for the occasion of the opening of the tramway.

The opening ceremony was performed by the Member of Maitland, Mr. John Gillies, M.L.A., who played a big part in the Government's input to the Tramway System.

Tram Motor No. 80A with a trailcar attached and decorated with flags and ribbons left the East Maitland depot at 3.06pm for it's trial run which was made without incident.

Officials, Tramway committee and the Federal Band rode in the trailcar during the opening ceremony.

######################################################################

In May, 1909, an extension of the tramway was made to Campbell's Hill and in October, 1910, a further extension from the mainline to West Maitland station was completed.

There were only two routes throughout the life of the tramway, these being Victoria Street, depot, {East Maitland} to Campbell's Hill, (West Maitland) and High Street (Maitland) to West Maitland railway station.

######################################################################

The original tender price for the construction was 11,000 pounds, but the final cost to get the service in operation was more that 24,000 pounds. The rails were laid the N.S.W. standard railway gauge of 4 ft. 8 1/2 in.

######################################################################



CLICK BELOW FOR NEXT PAGE

CLICK "HERE" FOR NEXT PAGE
MAITLAND IMAGES